New Year’s Giveaway!

Hello everybody! In celebration of the new year and 48 States getting named one of the Best Indie Books in 2022, I’m hosting a giveaway! 20 lucky winners will be sent a copy of all 3 of my books, a Flesh & Bone Publishing tote bag, and two pins that feature characters from my books! […]

A Season of Endings and New Beginnings

I meant to write this newsletter in December, but things took an unexpected turn, and what was shaping up to be a triumphant end of the year was overshadowed by sudden grief…  It’s astonishing how you can experience tremendous happiness and heart-wrenching loss in almost the same breath. When it happens in a novel, it’s […]

48 States named one of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Indie Books of 2022!

A line from one of this year’s best books reads, “Life was a horror movie, but only if you looked for it.” No one needs to look for horror now; it’s all around us. The U.S. is morphing into Gilead, and we’re coining words like tripledemic and permacrisis. The real monsters walk among us. Fortunately, this year’s Best of […]

In Praise of Moderation

Moderation isn’t sexy. Romeo and Juliette did not burn with an even-keeled temperament and devotion to compromise and civility. In the film adaptation of Jane Austen’s “Sense and Sensibility” ( screenplay by the incomparable Emma Thompson), Elinor is excoriated by her sister Marianne for offering a less than passionate response when asked about a paramour. […]

48 States Review- The Momma Spot

48 States Review by Book Dragon’s TBR Published: 11/3/2022 A thrilling dystopian that will stick with you long after you’re finished reading. Evette Davis weaves an incredible tale of a dystopian future that will keep you on the edge of your seat. This book has some of the best character depth I’ve ever read. River […]

The best science fiction, fantasy, and dystopian stories for the bada** feminist in all of us

Written in collaboration with Shepard, a book review website! Read the reasoning behind why I chose these books on Shepard’s website at: https://shepherd.com/best-books/dystopian-stories-for-the-feminist-in-all-of-us The books I picked: 1) Dark Witch By Nora Roberts 2) A Discovery of Witches By Deborah Harkness 3) The Dragon of New Orleans By Genevieve Jack 4) Polaris RisingBy Jessie Mihalik […]

48 States Review- Bonnie’s Book Blog

Two Books With Birds on the Cover by Bonnie Jacobs Published: 10/11/2022 Book bans, federal curfews, and digital identity chips — what a terrifying near future!  A cautionary tale set in 2042 when the United States is recovering from a series of terrorist attacks that upended the government, rewrote our civil liberties, and erased two […]

48 States Review- WE Magazine for Women

Fall Worth Reading List by Heidi Mooney Published: Oct 11, 2022 Perfect for readers who loved Station Eleven, California, and Gold Fame Citrus, 48 States is a one-of-a-kind dystopian thriller about the dangers of extremism and the power of love and forgiveness. When author Evette Davis is not writing novels, she co-manages San Francisco-based public […]