48 States Review- The Momma Spot

48 States Review by Book Dragon’s TBR Published: 11/3/2022 A thrilling dystopian that will stick with you long after you’re finished reading. Evette Davis weaves an incredible tale of a dystopian future that will keep you on the edge of your seat. This book has some of the best character depth I’ve ever read. River […]

48 States Review- Bonnie’s Book Blog

Two Books With Birds on the Cover by Bonnie Jacobs Published: 10/11/2022 Book bans, federal curfews, and digital identity chips — what a terrifying near future!  A cautionary tale set in 2042 when the United States is recovering from a series of terrorist attacks that upended the government, rewrote our civil liberties, and erased two […]

48 States Review- WE Magazine for Women

Fall Worth Reading List by Heidi Mooney Published: Oct 11, 2022 Perfect for readers who loved Station Eleven, California, and Gold Fame Citrus, 48 States is a one-of-a-kind dystopian thriller about the dangers of extremism and the power of love and forgiveness. When author Evette Davis is not writing novels, she co-manages San Francisco-based public […]

48 States Review- Daily Mom

19 Great Books to Cuddle Up and Read This Fall by Katie Cowan 48 States is a dystopian thriller that centers around a government in the future that is forced to rewrite civil liberties and erase two states (cue the title making sense) due to a series of terrorist attacks. A single mother and a […]

Kirkus, Starred Review

An adept and chilling cautionary tale—the narrative equivalent of brass knuckles to the skull. Kirkus, Starred Review Blending elements of apocalyptic fiction, dystopian thriller, and timely political drama, this novel is set in an America on the brink of collapse. After much of the country’s leadership is assassinated by terrorists in a coordinated attack at […]

Write — Read — Life Review

Unique take on dystopian United States.  No one could have anticipated the attacks that would occur on United States soil. Multiple political assassinations took out much of the country’s leadership until the Secretary of State was the next in line for the presidency.  After that, things changed rapidly.  In order to become fully oil independent, […]

These Days, Real Life Can Be Stranger Than Science Fiction — USAWire Staff

Hmm, I Feel Like I Read About That In the Newspaper My new novel 48 States contemplates the United States forcibly relocating people to turn states into fracking territories to allow the US to produce enough oil and gas to avoid further conflict with terrorists in the Middle East. This process creates thousands of domestic refugees across […]

Author Q & A: 48 States – Evette Davis

Q&A by ramblingmads The year is 2042, and the United States is recovering from a series of terrorist attacks that uprooted the government, revoked civil liberties, and erased two states from the map. Widow, single mother, and Army veteran Jennifer “River” Petersen drives trucks for a living in Energy Territory No. 1, formerly known as […]